10 EXCERPTS FROM THE LOOK OF LOVE

It’s valentine’s day and what’s my plan for today? I don’t have a date nor wishing to have one so PLAN: attend mass–talk to little brother over Facetime–watch Filipino shows–chill–watch Deadpool–do Human Dev homework–chill-sleep until I wake up the next day because I have a 9am class. Besides, it’s just a normal day for a single person like me(no, not bitter, at all) and it is the feast day of St. Valentine. Trivia: St. Valentine is the patron saint for love, young people and happy marriages; also commonly associated with “courtly love”.

Speaking of love, I didn’t know what to post for valentines because I’m sorry zero balance lovelife ko, I don’t have that much experience with love yet I mean what would a 16-year old teen know about love right so I decided to share with you my 10 favorite excerpts from one of my favorite romantic novels, The Look of Love by Sarah Jio.

(yan may pamusic pa para mafeel natin mga single 👻)


 

  1. “Amour vit en avant.” Love lives on. These were her mother’s parting words to her, on her deathbed.  “Do not give up on love, my sweet Elodie.” she had said through tears. “Do not become hardened like I did. Keep love in your heart. Be open to it when it comes, even if the circumstances seem impossible. Trust it. And do not be afraid to fail. Because if you do it, it will still live on.” She placed her hand over her own frail heart. “It will live here. Love does not die. It lives.”

  2. “Maybe she’s just unhappy,” I say. “My grandmother used to say that most of the time, people don’t mean to be rude; it’s just their sadness showing through.”

  3. “Your eyes, my dear Janey, have always been the color of growth,” she said, placing her hand on my cheek. “Like the green shoots of spring on all the trees, like the flowers in the vase. You’re special, my beautiful daughter. So special.”

  4. “You’re lucky, you know.” “Me?” I let out a little laugh. “I’d hardly say that. You, on the other hand, are lucky.” Elaine shakes her head. “Jane, you have your whole life ahead of you, and you can make it anything you like.”

  5. “Love myself dear, doesn’t make much sense,” she continues. “Its nature is very confounding… Love is not always logical, but when you see it, you know it…”

  6. “So what is the temporal lobe responsible for?” Dr. Heller is silent for a moment. “It’s part of the limbic system. It regulates our emotions and is the place in the brain that researchers have been able to measure . . .” “Love?” “Well, Jane, no one can scientifically measure love, but yes, feelings, emotions, affection.” “Love,” I say again.

  7. 12714518_850263475071161_690627999_n

  8. He’s broken her heart. He’s broken her. For the first time ever, she was willing to give herself to a man completely—body, mind, soul. But, most telling, heart. And he waffled… But she doesn’t want to give him any more time. He’s taken so much already and made promises she knows he won’t keep… “…what we had was real, and true. I will always believe that. But in the end, it . . . just wasn’t meant to be”

  9. And yet, Jennifer’s love for her husband is bigger than the anger and hurt, the broken promises, the deception that rattled her world. Her love is not prideful or self-serving. In the end, it’s love. Just love.

  10. Love is waiting for her, in all its forms, ready to be discovered, reveled in, felt, and seen from every angle: the raw and the beautiful, the joyful and the sad, the temporary and the eternal, and every shade in between. And love can be hers if she’s brave enough to look for it, and ultimately, to see it. 


There you have it! My 10 favorite excerpts from The Look of Love by Sarah Jio although I have a lot of favorite lines I mean a lot but I don’t want to spoil too much for you who plans to read it sooner. I chose the book because it didn’t just made me productive for a day of endless reading, I also learned- big time. I love every word and punctuation mark I came across with(lol). I recommend you read it as well! I bought mine at Books a Million for $16. I personally loved how the story went from start to end; it was a roller coaster ride of emotions. I give it 8 carnation flowers of 10 and a half.

Valentine’s day isn’t just about having a date with your significant other and those who aren’t in a relationship griefs. I think it’s more to that. Valentine’s day is for people who loves you and you love as well–family, friends, the people around you; it’s also St. Valentine’s day! We should not find a reason not to celebrate it with a smiling face. Why be bitter, right? LOVE IS FOR EVERYONE. CELEBRATING LOVE MUST BE EVERYDAY. EVERYDAY IS VALENTINE’S DAY. Don’t worry, take a look back at #10; love will find you soon. Ecclesiastes 3:11! How are you spending your Valentines? Next event in my valentine’s day itinerary: write an essay after I watch the documentation for Human Development. 😒

tumblr_njdijc5Zvh1qj4315o1_500

Every happy and heart emoji there is,

Mia

She will find her way, just as I have, even when it doesn’t always end with the loose ends tied up neatly in a bow. That is life, and that is love.

—Sarah Jio

Leave a Reply

