WHEN IN MATI 2016

It has been about a couple of months since I went home for a five-week-long vacation in The Philippines-particularly in my hometown-Mati, Davao Oriental. I have been looking forward to this since we booked a ticket last year. Home will always be home and I will never replace Mati as my home. I never really told everyone when I was going back so it was somehow a surprise for most people, except my family and very close friends.

Week 1

We made sure to be home before my brother’s birthday because he really wanted us to be together as a family. The moment I stepped inside our house was like the moment I’ve never felt happier and secure in a long time. My second agenda next to that, spend time with my friends and family. Day after day, I’d reach out to a friend and catch up with them. I was mostly away in the first week and would go home late at night but, hey, you can’t blame me. I’ve been gala-deprived since I started college away from home.

Then goes my brother’s birthday party. He wanted a simple celebration but we figured why not celebrate it at the beach so we can also bond and catch up with our family and closest friends. We stayed there for two days. It was a memorable experience. Two of my closest friends was there, my whole extended family was present, I love the beach and almost everything—it was a perfect getaway. The only con was there were so many mosquitoes in the evening! I was bitten a lot I regretted I didn’t bring a mosquito repellant with me.

zv1rputx

Week 2

It started as is as the first week. I went out with friends and caught up with them. I seized the opportunity of Jollibee’s existence so I was probably Jollibee’s loyal customer for a month. Why doesn’t Florida franchise one? 😭

I attended a household meeting and delivered a talk in CFC-YFL Mati during the weekend to spend time with my second family in Mati. It’s so nice to do something I used to do when I was still living there; it made me feel nostalgic and emotional. I was like, okay self pull yourself together this is real can u pls not.

x-wqcpxa

Week 3

Now, this was where it all went bad and my plans fell apart. Initally, I was supposed to still catch up with my friends back home, maybe visit my closest friends who were studying in Davao City, and/or go see the tourist spots in Davao Oriental. It has been a long dream of mine to discover my hometown more. I felt bad that even when I grew up there, I never really got the chance to go sight-see. More so, I felt bad that I didn’t have the chance to catch up with the others.

The reason behind it all: dengue. Ugh! I can’t even emphasize how it sucked to be jailed in a hospital for a week! Float the mosquitoes who missed me. A few of my friends and CFC-FFL family visited so it was still alright.

embarassed-girl-desk-gif-class

No pictures because dengue…huhu.

 

Week 4

We started the week chilling for a whole day in my second favorite place: the beach. Good thing we live about 5 minutes away from the closest and most popular beach in our district, Amihan. I then accomplished my third agenda, a needed haircut and hairspa. Hay, my hair was so grateful afterwards.

I got more annoyed when my eyes started to irritate. Ugh ugh! I had to stay home again for another few days to rest because my immune system was weaker than it ever was. Yeah, I know, it sucks, bigtime!

When I felt better, I continued to hang with my friends and even surprised one of my closest teachers. Still, it was a productive and a happy week when we went to Davao for an appointment; though it was a little sad that we were just there for a few hours and we didn’t have the time to spare for to me meet my closest friends.

Week 5

My grandma and I had a heart-to-heart talk. It was something I really missed because I used to tell her everything when I was home and would always visit her every week. Also, I visited my grandfathers in the cemetery and it was everything I ever needed, really. I felt like a big weight pulled away from me but bat ganon malaki pa din bilbil ko lol. On my last day, I met up with friends and caught up with them for the last time this year. I came home earlier than usual because we had dinner with the w hole family and it was the perfect way to end my vacation.

bs2frvir

My fourth and fifth week in one. This was when I was home for a few days to rest and I didn’t really went out.


I couldn’t ask for more. I had the stress-reliever that I wanted since I got back here in Florida but I hoped I had more time. I am blessed to have an amazing family and friends. Sure, bumps go here and there but at the end of the day, I still am happy to know that I am loved by a lot of people who are important to me.

I love keeping and reminiscing good memories. It’s something I do whenever I feel sad or homesick. It keeps me in-tact and reminds me how good life is which makes me want to make more memories.

To my friends whom I never met during my short stay home, I’m sorry. There’s a lot of next times though! I hope by that time we’re still tight so we can still meet up and have fun like old times. You are as important to me as Hello Kitty.

To my friends who had the time to meet up with me, thank you. You guys are the best.

To my family, you will always be my rock. Whenever I feel unmotivated, I’ll keep you guys in mind.

To my parents, thank you for everything.

To God, thank you for making all of this possible. I hope you’ll let me come home sooner than I expect.

See you soon,
Mia

Leave a Reply

