HOW TO PASS ANATOMY & PHYSIOLOGY

We all know that at some point in our medical school journey, we have to go through Anatomy & Physiology painstakingly and must pass it. It’s that one subject you wish exams and complicated terms doesn’t exist. No matter how hard we try to avoid it, we just can’t because it’s a requirement for our medical field majors and we have to deal with it-no matter how and what it takes. #riplives

Thankfully, I didn’t have to retake my Ana-physio class. I somehow got through it after two terms of complete love-hate relationship with the subject. I’m not in any means bragging but I’d like you to take this as a motivation that even a lazy-slothy-procrastinatey person like me passed the subject with a high-grade. That means you too can do it! I’ve enlisted a few pointers that helped me passed the subject. I hope this helps! Good luck!

p.s. like I said, I’m not smart nor studious. I admit that I am a very lazy person that can easily be distracted and crams a lot. In bisaya, we call ourselves gahot.


1. Know your instructor and their teaching methods.

Personally, it is a big factor that you like your instructor. If you’re school allows you to pick your professor, ask your friends-those who already took the class-who the best professor is. Ask them what is their way of teaching. Do they conduct quizzes? Is it a summative test? Is it a portioned test? Are there homeworks? Are there extra-credits and drop grades? Do they understand the discussion?

Think about what kind of pace you want for your class to be. We all have different preferences and it’s better when you are comfortable with the instructor’s teaching mechanism.

2. It’s all about repetitive studying.

Anatomy and Physiology is all about repetitive self-study. I don’t usually understand what the instructor is discussing; that happens when my eyes are focused on my professor but my mind is wandering and thinking about random things that aren’t even related to the topic we are on. The only way I can successfully understand a topic is through reading it over and over while trying to picture out what I’m reading.

My professor told us that it takes about two days for you to forget what you understood or heard in the discussion. I also re-read everything 3-6 times before fully understanding the topic. It’s best to take a few minutes away from social media and read everything you discussed within two days after the discussion. When I’m not my usual lazy self, I repetitively read it before sleeping until I fall asleep or my slothy self is back again. 

3. You can re-write your notes repetitively as well.

A friend told me that she gets an acceptable grade everytime she tries to read while re-writing her notes. I did it once in my lecture exam and she was right; I got a higher grade than my last one. It took me a lot of time and effort to write everything down so I never did it again in lecture. But, it is a very effective way of studying in lab exams. I repeatedly wrote down the features and the structures while trying to picture them out until I already memorized everything. You can get an easy hundred in lab exams with that as well!

4. Snapchat is very handy in labs.

There are a lot of terms to memorize and label when it comes to Anatomy. My main purpose of downloading snapchat is to label every anatomical term. I review them again repeatedly until I finally memorize them. Then, I write the features down while picturing it out in my mind.

IMG_8975.JPG

like so

5. Never underestimate extra-credits.

Even when your professor tells you that it isn’t required to turn in the extra-credits, turn them in. It can make a big difference with your grades. It’s a total lifesaver that can lift your average grade higher. Do them ahead of time. You can make use of quizlet.com when it comes to answering extra-credits and homeworks.

6. Go to open-labs a week before your lab exam.

If you’re lazy enough to listen during lab discussions and is a very self-study person, this is your last resort. Google every feature you need to memorize and try to find it in the model. Go over them again and again. You can even snapchat it if you have not much time left. Include google images, snapchat and your camera roll in your bff list in this subject.

7. Study 3-7 days ahead before lecture exams.

Cramming is your number one enemy with this subject. Believe me, I’ve tried to review a night before the lecture test and it did me no good when my grades drastically went down. All you have to do is just. repeat. everythinguntil you’re comfortable enough that you understand what you read/wrote.

8. Take note if the term, function, process or meaning is frequently said or emphasized by the professor.

That just means that it is included in the exam so you have to focus on that topic or subtopic and be familiar about it.

9. Don’t be discouraged if you failed a test.

You can always redeem yourself in the next test. Make that as a motivation that you have to work a little harder next time. Remember why you’re taking that subject in the first place. You have to pass it. You’re already there. There’s no stopping or turning back now.

10. Always reward yourself by taking a rest.

Reward yourself with a movie or a tv series. Eat out. Meditate. Get enough sleep. Do whatever you can that makes you forget about college for awhile because you’re in a chill tranquil zen mode. You deserve all that. Sleep is the most essential part in college for you to function properly so manage your time wisely.

Leave a Reply

